Space for pervasive banner when authenticated

Transfer clients in Intuit Accountant Suite (IAS)
Learn how to consolidate your clients into one Intuit Accountant Suite (IAS) console.
When you consolidate consoles, you transfer clients from one or more source consoles to a target console. Client information and team access move with the clients. This helps you manage your clients and team access from one console.
Know the requirements and limitations
Before you transfer clients, review the requirements and limitations.
Requirements
You must be the Primary or Company Admin on the source account to initiate the transfer. Use the same sign-in for both.
The source console is where you manage the clients you want to transfer.
The target console is where you manage the clients after the transfer.
Transfers from Intuit Accountant Suite (QBOA) to Intuit Accountant Suite (IAS) are now supported.
Active users from the source firm are automatically onboarded to the target firm with a "default no access role" (rather than having to be manually invited from scratch).
You can’t move your firm’s Your Books accounting file. If you merge accounts, the account with your Your Books file should be the target account. Transfer your clients into that account.
The target firm must have an active QuickBooks Online subscription. You can’t move a canceled or suspended subscription until it’s re-activated.
To move clients on Bill My Firm, the target account must have a valid credit card. Without one, the transfer will fail.
If a client is in both the source and target accounts, keep the record with billing. Delete the duplicate client record from the non-billing account before any transfer.
Limitations
Management Reports and Client Documents are now supported and will transfer with your clients.
A client using the following features isn't eligible for consolidation:
Books-to-Tax
Box Inc.
Intuit Enterprise Suite (IES) isn't eligible for transfer.
You can’t move ProConnect Tax documents or their history.
You can’t transfer clients with an open ProConnect Tax Online return.
You can’t move clients with no current online subscriptions.
You have to reconnect any accountant-connected apps to resume data sync.
Transfer your client list
You can't undo a transfer after you approve and process it. If you need to make changes afterward, you'll need to manually remove team members that shouldn’t be part of the transfer. Or, add team members that aren’t in the list.
Sign in to the target console as a company or primary admin.
Go to Settings
, then select Transfer clients.Review the transfer information, then select Get Started.
On the Select a realm tab:
Select the source console you want to transfer clients from.
Select Next.
On the Select clients tab, select the checkbox for each client you want to transfer.
Enter a client's name in the Search clients field to find them.
Select a column header to sort the list of clients.
Select Customize to filter the list of clients, then select Next.
Note:You can transfer clients from only one source console at a time and up to 150 clients per batch. If you have more than 150 clients, complete multiple transfers.
The total number of selected clients appears as you select clients.
On the Select team access tab:
Select Yes if you want to transfer team member access with the clients.
Important: Select all team members who need access to the clients on the target console, even if they're already team members on that console. This makes sure they have the correct access after the transfer.Select the See which team members are linked to the clients being transferred ▼ dropdown to review team members and their access.
In the Search field, enter a team member's name to check their access.
Select Next.
On the Review tab:
Review the clients and team access you're transferring.
Review the pre-consolidation summary report.
Select Start transfer.
Check the status of the transfer.
When the process is finished, you’ll receive an in-product completion notification.
Select View transfer status.
Review the post-consolidation summary report.
Select Move more clients to transfer clients from another source console.
Review the final transfer log. If there are errors, make a note of the log reference number.
Manage role-based access
To manage clients, your company admin may need to update your team’s access and role permissions.
Note: Only the primary admin can manage the client list.
Sign in now for personalized help
See articles customized for your product and join our large community of QuickBooks users.