Created with Sketch.Learn about PPP and Loan Forgiveness, stay informed with the latest changes.
Created with Sketch.Questions about how to close your books for 2020? Visit our Year End Resources page.
Created with Sketch.New to QuickBooks or using a new product? Visit our Get Started resource page to help you get going.
Created with Sketch.Need to make changes to your account? Visit the Account Manager Portal.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Intuit

Delete your data and start over in QuickBooks Online

Learn how to delete your data in QuickBooks Online and start over with new books.

Sometimes you need to start fresh with a new QuickBooks Online company. If you're a new customer, you can simply start over. If you've used QuickBooks for a while, you need to create a new company.

Start over in QuickBooks Online

You don't need to start from scratch. Save time by reusing the lists from your old company. Learn how to move your lists to a new company file.

Your next steps depend on how long you've been using QuickBooks.

When you cancel QuickBooks, it doesn’t delete your data. You'll need to start a new company too. Use these steps to start over with new books.

Step 1: Cancel your current account

  1. Go to Settings ⚙ and select Account and settings.
  2. Select the Billing and subscription tab.
  3. Select Cancel subscription.
  4. Follow the steps to cancel your account. If you use payroll, you should cancel your payroll account too.

Step 2: Start a new company

  1. Sign up for QuickBooks Online
  2. Enter your user ID and password. You can use the same user ID and password you used before.
  3. Optional: If you use payroll, sign up for payroll again in the the Payroll menu.

These next steps are only for QuickBooks Essentials, Plus, and Advanced users. If you use QuickBooks Simple Start, you should follow the steps above to cancel and start a new company. If you delete your company data, it won't cancel your QuickBooks or payroll subscriptions. However, you will have to reenter any employee or historical info you want to keep. This process completely clears out your books.

Important: Don't use these steps if you use QuickBooks Online Accountant. This will cause damage to your account that we can't undo. Instead, import a blank QuickBooks Desktop file to start over.

Delete your company data

Be careful. Before you start, be absolutely sure you want to delete everything.

Note: If you have banks or other third party apps connected, purging your company can permanently damage these connections for this company.

  1. Sign in to QuickBooks Online as an admin
  2. Look at the URL in your browser's address bar. Delete all the text after the last / and enter purgecompany.
    For example:
    • Before: https://...qbo.intuit.com/app/homepage
    • After: https://...qbo.intuit.com/app/purgecompany
  3. To confirm you want to delete your company data, type Yes.
  4. Select Wipe data.

Once the process is finished, you can start your books from scratch.

On-demand assistance

Set up a live video appointment or message your QuickBooks-certified bookkeeper whenever you need help. Learn more about QuickBooks Live Bookkeeping.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post

Need to get in touch?

Contact us