QuickBooks HelpQuickBooksHelpIntuit

Cancel your QuickBooks Online subscription or trial

SOLVEDby QuickBooksQuickBooks Online59Updated 2 days ago

If you need fewer features, consider downgrading your plan. This saves you money and you only keep what you need to do your bookkeeping.

Cancel your QuickBooks Online subscription

The steps for cancelling QuickBooks Online depend on where you signed up for your subscription. If you signed up through a mobile app store, you’ll need to go to your app store to cancel. 

Follow the steps based on where you bought your QuickBooks Online subscription.

Cancel an account purchased online, directly from Intuit

  1. Open a web browser on your computer, not a mobile device.
  2. Sign in to QuickBooks Online as the primary or company admin.
  3. Go to Settings ⚙ and select Account and settings.
  4. Go to Billing & subscription.
  5. In the QuickBooks section, select Cancel subscription or Cancel online. If you're cancelling a trial, select Cancel your trial.
  6. Follow the onscreen steps.

Note: If you are logged in as an admin user and don't see the Billing & subscription tab, then you have purchased QuickBooks through a mobile app store. See the steps for your device below.

  1. Go to the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Select your Name to access your Apple ID.
  3. Select Subscriptions.
  4. Select QuickBooks Online.
  5. Select Cancel.

You can also use the official steps to cancel a subscription from Apple.

  1. Go to the Play Store app.
  2. Select the Profile icon.
  3. Select Payments & subscriptions, then select Subscriptions.
  4. Select the QuickBooks Online app.
  5. On the Manage subscriptions window, select Cancel subscription.

You can also use official steps to cancel a subscription from Google.

Cancel a suspended subscription

If your account is suspended, you need to resubscribe and reactivate it before you can cancel. We'll also automatically cancel your subscription after three failed attempts to charge your payment method.

Cancel a subscription during a free 30-day trial

If you cancel your subscription at any time during your 30-day free trial, you'll still be able to access QuickBooks until your next billing date. After that, you'll have read-only access to QuickBooks for one year starting from the date you cancel your subscription.

Learn what happens to your data after you cancel

For paid and trial subscriptions, we hang on to your data for one year. This lets you pick up where you left off if you decide to come back. During this time, the file will remain in a read-only state unless you choose to resubscribe or reactivate your account. We delete the data after one year.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
QuickBooks AppsQuickBooks Online EssentialsQuickBooks Online PlusQuickBooks Online Simple Start

Sign in for the best experience

Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of QuickBooks users.

More like this