QuickBooks HelpQuickBooksHelpIntuit

Cancel your QuickBooks Online subscription or trial

SOLVEDby QuickBooksQuickBooks Online457Updated 6 days ago

If you need fewer features, consider downgrading your plan. This saves you money and you only keep what you need to do your bookkeeping.

Are you sure that you want to cancel your subscription?

If you'd like to try a plan with different features, you can upgrade or downgrade your subscription. If you'd like some help with QuickBooks before you decide, you can find a ProAdvisor. Or, you can watch our video tutorials.

Cancel your QuickBooks Online subscription

The steps for cancelling QuickBooks Online depend on where you signed up for your subscription. If you signed up through a mobile app store, you’ll need to go to your app store to cancel. 

Follow the steps based on where you bought your QuickBooks Online subscription.

Cancel an account purchased online, directly from Intuit

  1. Open a web browser on your computer, not a mobile device.
  2. Sign in to QuickBooks Online as an admin user.
  3. Go to Settings ⚙ and select Account and settings.
  4. Go to Billing & Subscription.
    Note: If you don't see the Billing & subscription tab, then you bought QuickBooks through a mobile app store. See the steps for your device below.
  5. In the QuickBooks section, select Cancel subscription or Cancel online. If you're cancelling a trial, select Cancel trial.
  6. Follow the onscreen steps.
  1. Go to the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Select your Name to access your Apple ID.
  3. Select Subscriptions.
  4. Select QuickBooks Online.
  5. Select Cancel.

You can also use the official steps to cancel a subscription from Apple.

  1. Go to the Play Store app.
  2. Select the Profile icon.
  3. Select Payments & subscriptions, then select Subscriptions.
  4. Select the QuickBooks Online app.
  5. On the Manage subscriptions window, select Cancel subscription.

You can also use official steps to cancel a subscription from Google.

Cancel a suspended subscription

If your account is suspended, you need to resubscribe and reactivate it before you can cancel. We'll also automatically cancel your subscription after three failed attempts to charge your payment method.

Learn what happens to your data after you cancel

For paid and trial subscriptions, we hang on to your data for one year. This lets you pick up where you left off if you decide to come back. We delete the data after that. During that year, the account is in read-only mode, allowing you to review, export, and print data, but you won't be able to make changes to your books. When you log in to the Company Selection page, you can view the expired files under Cancelled Companies.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
QuickBooks AppsQuickBooks Online AdvancedQuickBooks Online EssentialsQuickBooks Online PlusQuickBooks Online Simple Start

Sign in for the best experience

Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of QuickBooks users.

More like this