cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Intuit
40 helpful votes

Remove or merge a product or service

In QuickBooks Online, you can make a product or service inactive if you want to remove it from your Products and Services List.

An inactive product or service will no longer show not only in Products and Services, but also in reporting options and any other place a product or service is displayed. It's not removed from transactions. Transactions using the inactive product or service will say "Name (deleted)" with the name of the inactive product or service.

Note: Products and Services can be reactivated at any time, with the exception of inventory products that have the Quantity on Hand feature turned on.

To make a product or service inactive:

  1. Select the Gear icon at the top, then Products and Services.
  2. Select the desired product or service you want to make inactivate.
  3. In the Action column, select the drop-down arrow and choose Make inactive.
  4. Select Yes to confirm the inactivation.

Note: Products with Quantity on Hand turned on cannot be merged or reactivated.

To reactivate a product or service:

    1. Select the Gear icon at the top, then Products and Services.
  1. Select the Funnel icon. From the Status drop-down choose All, then Apply.
  2. Select the desired product or service you want to reactivate.
  3. In the Action column, select Make active.

To merge a product or service:

If you merge two products or services, e.g., product A into product B, transactions that use product A are unchanged, except for the name of the product or service. The effect is that product A is removed from the Products and Services List.

  1. Select the Gear icon at the top, then Products and Services.
  2. Find the product or service you want to remove by merging.
  3. In the Action column, select Edit.
  4. Edit the Name field as the product or service you want to merge it with.
  5. Select Save, then Yes to confirm the merge.

Reminder about default items

Default items (automatically created with company) such as "Services" and "Hours" cannot be made inactive. You will see the error: This product or service can’t be made inactive because it is used as the default service for time activities. The names can be edited to have a Z at the beginning, so they will appear at the bottom of lists.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post