cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Level 1

Multi-user for Mac Desktop

My question is regarding multi-user access on a shared server. If the administrator does not have the QuickBooks server/file open 24 hours a day, does that mean I will not have the option (as a secondary user) to see the shared file on my computer? What are the other options to set this up?

Solved
Best answer 02-28-2019

Accepted Solutions
QuickBooks Team

Re: Multi-user for Mac Desktop

Hi there, @Chrissy R.

 

Thanks for posting here in the Community. I can share some insights about how multi-user feature works in QuickBooks Desktop for Mac. 

 

When using the multi-user mode in QuickBooks Desktop, once the administrator turns off the server where the company file is saved, other users won't be able to open the shared file. This is because the database manager is saved to the main server. To better understand how multi-user works, please check out these helpful articles:

However, for the other users to work on the company file, they'll need to save a copy of the original file on their computer. Take note that changes made will not be transferred over to the original file.

 

Here are some helpful articles that you can check out to about troubleshooting multi-user issues in QuickBooks Desktop.

In case you need additional assistance with this concern, feel free to reach out to our Customer Care Team. To reach them you can follow the steps, provided in this link: Contact the QuickBooks Desktop Customer Support Team.

 

Be sure to let me know how else I can empower you to make QuickBooks work the way your business needs. Thanks for coming to the Community, wishing you continued success.

View solution in original post

2 Comments
QuickBooks Team

Re: Multi-user for Mac Desktop

Hi there, @Chrissy R.

 

Thanks for posting here in the Community. I can share some insights about how multi-user feature works in QuickBooks Desktop for Mac. 

 

When using the multi-user mode in QuickBooks Desktop, once the administrator turns off the server where the company file is saved, other users won't be able to open the shared file. This is because the database manager is saved to the main server. To better understand how multi-user works, please check out these helpful articles:

However, for the other users to work on the company file, they'll need to save a copy of the original file on their computer. Take note that changes made will not be transferred over to the original file.

 

Here are some helpful articles that you can check out to about troubleshooting multi-user issues in QuickBooks Desktop.

In case you need additional assistance with this concern, feel free to reach out to our Customer Care Team. To reach them you can follow the steps, provided in this link: Contact the QuickBooks Desktop Customer Support Team.

 

Be sure to let me know how else I can empower you to make QuickBooks work the way your business needs. Thanks for coming to the Community, wishing you continued success.

View solution in original post

Level 8

Re: Multi-user for Mac Desktop

Yes - the server has to be on and awake (not sleeping) for the clients to connect to it. For QuickBooks Mac the clients don't need a copy of the company file on their computer (its copied over from the server when you connect). 

Need to get in touch?

Contact us