cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Tom of Finland Foundation
Level 1

Data files on server, but also on local machine

We upgraded the software today to version 2021. Our data files are normally located on a network file server. I checked to make sure the files are still on the server, and noticed an additional copy is also in the default directory:

C:\Users\Public\Public Documents\Intuit\QuickBooks\Company Files

 

The ones on the server have a current time stamp; the ones in the local directory are stamped earlier today. I don't know if they were in the default location before, or if this is new. 

 

Is there any reason to keep the duplicate local files?

Solved
Best answer October 09, 2020

Best Answers
JenoP
QuickBooks Team

Data files on server, but also on local machine

Hi there, Tom of Finland Foundation.

 

The duplicate file might have been created when you upgraded the file. Each version of QuickBooks has its own folder in the default directory after installing it. It's also possible that it was created when restoring a backup copy. QuickBooks will prompt you to save a working file, and it might have been saved in the folder that you've mentioned. 

 

As long as you continue yo use the one in your network file server, you can remove the duplicate file to avoid confusion. Just make sure you're deleting the one in the default directory to avoid access issue when logging in to the company file. 

 

We also advise to always save a backup copy to make sure that everything is covered. Here's an article for more details: Back Up Your QuickBooks Desktop company file.

 

Please don't hesitate to reach out to us again if you need anything else. 

View solution in original post

1 Comment
JenoP
QuickBooks Team

Data files on server, but also on local machine

Hi there, Tom of Finland Foundation.

 

The duplicate file might have been created when you upgraded the file. Each version of QuickBooks has its own folder in the default directory after installing it. It's also possible that it was created when restoring a backup copy. QuickBooks will prompt you to save a working file, and it might have been saved in the folder that you've mentioned. 

 

As long as you continue yo use the one in your network file server, you can remove the duplicate file to avoid confusion. Just make sure you're deleting the one in the default directory to avoid access issue when logging in to the company file. 

 

We also advise to always save a backup copy to make sure that everything is covered. Here's an article for more details: Back Up Your QuickBooks Desktop company file.

 

Please don't hesitate to reach out to us again if you need anything else. 

View solution in original post

Need to get in touch?

Contact us
Sign in for the best experience
Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of QuickBooks users.
Sign In / Sign Up