cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Established Member

If I make a client inactive, will I still be charged for them? I had 3 inactive clients that I was charged for.

 
1 Comment
Moderator

Re: If I make a client inactive, will I still be charged for them? I had 3 inactive clients that ...

Greetings, @slade1024.

 

Thank you for joining the Community. I'd be happy to help share some information about billing inactive clients in QuickBooks Online Accountant. 

 

When inactivating the clients, it only deletes their companies from your client list, and their data remains. However, you'll still be charged for their QuickBooks Online accounts.

 

If you no longer wish to be billed for your clients' company, you need to remove them from your Wholesale Billing subscription. Before doing so, please make sure to transfer the Master Administrator role to the clients. So that they have the current Master Administrator's access to make changes to their accounts.

 

After that, you can go ahead and remove them from your subscription. 

 

Here's how:

  1. At the top right, click the Gear icon.
  2. Select Your Account
  3. Scroll down to the Wholesale Clients section and select the client you want to remove. 
  4. Select the Batch Actions drop-down and choose Transfer Billing.
  5. Read the notification, then click Continue.

Once the company has been removed, you will no longer be charged. After that, your client will be responsible for their own subscription.

 

The following article contains additional information about this: Add or remove clients from your wholesale billing account.

 

If you need to reach out for more help, our Community Care team will be able to help you get to a resolution quickly. 

 

These resources should help to get you back on track. If you've got other questions in mind about the charges for inactive clients, feel free to leave a reply below. I'll be glad to assist you.