Simplify payday and set payroll to run automatically on QuickBooks.

Green Circle Icon with Stylized White Letters
QuickBooksHelpIntuit

Undo a client’s entire reconciliation in QuickBooks Online Accountant

by Intuit • Image Alt Text 555
Image Alt Text Updated 8/25/2026 05:05

In QuickBooks Online Accountant, you can undo a client's whole reconciliation instead of removing individual transactions. This lets you start over from scratch to fix any errors but doesn’t undo manually reconciled transactions.

What you'll need

Before you begin, make sure you have completed the following prerequisites:

  • Accountant access: You must have Accountant access to your client's QuickBooks Online company.

  • Save attachments and reports: Download any attachments and reports associated to the reconciliation.

    • Undoing a reconciliation permanently deletes all related attachments and reports.

Follow these steps to undo a reconciliation for your client:

Result

The chosen reconciliation, and any reconciliations since then, are undone. Transactions that remain in the register for the dates that were undone may have changed manually. Check your transaction audit history to verify.

What’s next

After undoing the reconciliation, you can reconcile the account again and fix any errors.

Related links

Sign in now for personalized help

See articles customized for your product and join our large community of QuickBooks users.

Sign In / Sign Up