woman in green shirt climbing up gold coins and holding increase symbol
Payroll

A state-by-state guide to minimum wage laws in 2023

Navigating the complicated web of minimum wage laws and rates for your business can be confusing. Not only does the federal government establish a minimum wage that covers most US employers, but many states and local governments have also established their own minimum wage laws.


While some state and municipal governments passed groundbreaking increases to minimum wage rates in recent years, a few states have unfortunately passed legislation that prohibits state and local governments from enacting minimum wage rates that exceed the federal minimum wage rate.


To guide you through the ever changing world of minimum wages, we created a complete guide to minimum wage laws at the federal, state, and local levels.

Federal minimum wage laws

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is the federal law that sets minimum wage requirements for workers in the US.

Under the FLSA, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. The federal minimum wage hasn’t budged since 2009, but luckily for employees, many states have state minimum wage laws in place that are much higher than the federal minimum. 

You must pay your employees the greater of your state's minimum wage or the federal minimum wage. So, if your state’s minimum wage is higher than the federal average, then you must pay your employee’s the state minimum wage at the least.

map of the United States highlighting minimum wage laws for each state

State minimum wage in 2022 and 2023

Alabama

Minimum wage: No state minimum wage.

Currently, Alabama has no state minimum wage law in place. This means that you must pay your employees at least the federal minimum wage. However, Birmingham, Alabama has a higher minimum wage at $10.10. 

Alabama also follows the overtime rules outlined by the FLSA, so you must pay employees 1.5 times their normal rate of pay for every hour worked over 40 hours.

The Alabama Department of Labor manages wage and hour issues for Alabama.

Alaska

Minimum wage: $10.34 


As of January 1, 2021, the minimum wage in Alaska is $10.34 and has remained unchanged in 2022. Alaska is one of the 18 states whose minimum wage is subject to annual indexing, which means it will be automatically adjusted each year for inflation.


If an employee works more than 40 hours in one week or more than eight hours in one day, you must pay them 1.5 times their regular hourly wage.


The Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Division of Labor Standards and Safety manages minimum wage issues for Alaska.

Arizona

Minimum wage: $12.80

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Arizona is $12.80. The minimum wage is subject to annual indexing based on the cost of living and will increase each year. If an employee works over 40 hours in one week, you must pay them 1.5 times their hourly wage. 

On January 1, 2022, Flagstaff, Arizona passed a city ordinance that raised its minimum wage to $15.00—a little more than $2.00 over the state minimum wage. Starting in 2023, Flagstaff’s minimum wage will become subject to annual indexing. 

The Industrial Commission of Arizona manages minimum wage issues for Arizona.

Arkansas

Minimum wage: $11.00

As of January 1, 2021, the minimum wage in Arkansas is $11.00. This applies to employers with four or more employees under the Arkansas Minimum Wage Act. 

You must pay employees time and a half if they worked more than 40 hours. However, you are not required to pay them overtime if they worked more than eight hours in one day but did not exceed 40 hours per week. 

The Arkansas Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for Arkansas.

California

Minimum wage: $15.00 

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in California is $15.00. However, this only applies to businesses with 26 or more employees. For businesses with 25 employees or less, the minimum wage is $14.00. Starting January 1, 2023, the minimum wage in California will increase to $15.50 and is subject to annual indexing. 

Additionally, 30 out of the 46 localities that adopted minimum wages higher than their state minimum are in California. Examples include: 

  • Alameda, CA: $15.75/hour 
  • Berkeley, CA: $16.99/hour 
  • Los Angeles, CA: $15.96/hour 
  • San Francisco, CA: $16.99/hour 
  • Pasadena, CA: $16.11/hour 

The overtime minimum wage in California is 1.5 times an employee’s normal rate of pay when they’ve worked over 40 hours in one week, exceeded eight hours in one day, or worked seven consecutive days in one work week.

The California Department of Industrial Relations manages minimum wage issues at the state level for California. For local government guidance, the state points employers to a UC Berkeley site.

text highlighting that California has the highest state minimum wage in the U.S at $15.00 per hour with an illustrated map of California

Colorado

Minimum wage: $12.56

The minimum wage in Colorado is currently $12.56 and is subject to annual indexing. Denver, Colorado, however, has a minimum wage of $15.87 per hour and is set to increase to $17.29 per hour in 2023.

In Colorado, you must pay employee time and a half for overtime hours worked. The state has a 12 hour per day overtime threshold in addition to the weekly threshold of 40 hours per week. There is a special overtime threshold of 80 hours per every 14 days for the health care industry.

The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment manages minimum wage issues for Colorado.

Connecticut

Minimum wage: $14.00 

As of July 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Connecticut is $14.00 per hour. On June 1st, 2023, the minimum wage is set to increase to $15.00 and will be subject to annual indexing in 2024. 

Connecticut follows the time and a half rule for overtime pay when employees exceed a 40 hour workweek. 

The Connecticut Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for Connecticut.

Delaware

Minimum wage: $10.50

In January 2022, Delaware’s minimum wage increased from $9.25 to $10.50. Lawmakers passed a law in June of 2022 stating that the minimum wage will increase by more than $1 each year until it reaches $15 per hour. The yearly increases are as follows: 

  • 2022: $10.50
  • 2023: $11.75
  • 2024: $13.25
  • 2025: $15.00

Delaware does not have any specific overtime laws in place, so they adhere to the federal overtime laws paying employees time and a half for hours worked over 40 hours per week.

The Delaware Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for Delaware.

District of Columbia

Minimum wage: $16.10

On July 1, 2022, Washington D.C.’s minimum wage increased to $16.10 for all workers, no matter the size of the employer. You are entitled to pay employees 1.5 times their hourly rate for overtime hours over 40 hours per week. 

The DC Department of Employment Services manages minimum wage issues for the District of Columbia.

Florida

Minimum wage: $11.00

As of September 30, 2022, the minimum wage in Florida is $11.00. Every year, the minimum wage will increase by $1.00 until it reaches $15.00 in 2026.

Florida requires you to pay employees overtime at 1.5 times their hourly rate if they exceed 40 hours for the week and requires you to pay manual laborers working over 10 hours in a single day overtime pay.

The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity manages minimum wage issues for Florida.

Georgia

Minimum wage: $5.15

The last time state lawmakers set the minimum wage for Georgia was in 2001, when they set their minimum wage to $5.15. Because the federal minimum wage is greater than the Georgia rate, you must pay your employees at least the federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour and adhere to the overtime laws as outlined in the FSLA.

The Georgia Department of Labor manages wage and hour issues for Georgia.

Hawaii

Minimum wage: $12.00

On October 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Hawaii increased from $10.10 to $12.00. The minimum wage is set to increase by $2.00 for the next five years until it reaches $18.00 in 2026. The increases are as follows: 

  • January 1, 2024: $14.00
  • January 1, 2026: $16.00
  • January 1, 2028: $18.00 

In Hawaii, overtime pay is required after 40 hours of work is exceeded in a workweek at 1.5 times the employee’s hourly rate. However, employees earning a guaranteed monthly compensation of $2,000 or more are exempt from Hawaii’s minimum wage and overtime laws. 

The Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, Wage Standards Division, manages minimum wage issues for Hawaii.

Idaho

Minimum wage: $7.25

The minimum wage in Idaho is $7.25—the same as the federal minimum rate. This means that you must also adhere to the federal overtime laws and pay employees time and a half for hours worked over 40 hours in a workweek. 

The Idaho Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for Idaho.

Illinois

Minimum wage: $12.00

The minimum wage in Illinois, as of January 1, 2022, is $12.00 per hour. The minimum wage is set to increase by $1.00 until 2025. The increases are as follows: 

  • January 1, 2023: $13.00 
  • January 1, 2024: $14.00 
  • January 1, 2025: $15.00 

Additionally, Cook County and Chicago passed unique minimum wage requirements that went into effect on July 1, 2022:

  • Cook County: $13.35 per hour 
  • Chicago: $15.40 per hour for employers with 21 or more workers, and $14.50 for employers with four to 20 workers 

Employers must pay their employees at the regular time and a half rate after 40 hours of work. 

The Illinois Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for Illinois.

Indiana

Minimum wage: $7.25

Indiana law requires that employers with two or more employees pay at least the federal minimum rate, making the minimum wage in Indiana $7.25. You must also adhere to the same overtime minimum wage requirements and pay employees time and a half for hours worked over 40 hours. 

The Indiana Department of Labor manages wage and hour issues for Indiana.

Iowa

Minimum wage: $7.25

The current minimum wage in Iowa is $7.25.

Many local governments in Iowa—including Johnson County, Linn County, Polk County, and Wapello County—passed minimum wage laws that bring the minimum wage higher than the state minimum wage. However, in March 2019, Iowa state law prohibited local governments from adopting minimum wages higher than the state minimum wage. Therefore, the local government minimum wages are unenforceable in Iowa.

Iowa has no specific overtime laws, so you must adhere to the federal law and pay employees time and a half once they’ve exceeded 40 hours in one workweek.

The Iowa Workforce Development, Division of Labor manages minimum wage issues for Iowa.

Kansas

Minimum wage: $7.25

The minimum wage in Kansas is $7.25, making it the same as the Federal minimum. The Kansas minimum wage does not apply to employers covered by the FLSA. Kansas requires overtime pay at 1.5 times the average hourly rate or $10.88 per hour after 46 hours of work. 

The Kansas Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for Kansas.

Kentucky

Minimum wage: $7.25

Kentucky law requires that Kentucky’s minimum wage track the federal minimum wage of $7.25. The Kentucky supreme court found that a Louisville minimum wage conflicted with state law and is therefore unenforceable.

Kentucky overtime laws require you to pay employees time and a half for hours worked over 40 hours in a workweek. 

The Kentucky Labor Cabinet manages minimum wage issues for Kentucky.

Louisiana

Minimum wage: No state minimum wage.

No Louisiana law establishes a state minimum wage. Therefore, the federal minimum wage of $7.25 applies, in addition to the overtime rate of time and a half for the number of hours worked over 40 in a single workweek.

The Louisiana Office of Workforce Development manages minimum wage issues for Louisiana.

Maine

Minimum wage: $12.75

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Maine is $12.75 and is subject to annual indexing. However, Portland, Maine has a higher minimum wage of $13.00 per hour. The minimum wage in Maine is set to increase to $13.80 on January 1, 2023. 

The overtime rate is 1.5 times the minimum wage, making it $19.13 per hour for every hour an employee exceeds the 40-hour workweek. 

The Maine Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for Maine.

Maryland

Minimum wage: $12.50

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Maryland is $12.50 for employers with 15 or more employees. For employers with less than 15 employees, the minimum wage is $12.20. The minimum wage is set to increase over the next two years as follows: 

  • January 1, 2023: $13.25 for 15 or more employees, $12.80 for less than 15 employees 
  • January 1, 2024: $14.00 for 15 or more employees, $13.40 for less than 15 employees 

Additionally, Montgomery County and Howard County passed unique minimum wage requirements:

  • Montgomery County: $15.65 for more than 51 employees, $14.50 for 11 to 50 employees, and $14.00 for 10 or fewer employees 
  • Howard County: $14.00 for 15 or more employees, $12.50 for 14 or fewer employees, and $15.00 for Howard County government employees

Maryland requires time and a half pay for non-exempt employees who worked over 40 hours in one workweek. 

The Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation manages minimum wage issues for Maryland.

Massachusetts

Minimum wage: $14.25

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Massachusetts is $14.25. The state’s minimum wage will increase to $15.00 on January 1, 2023. You must pay employees 1.5 times their hourly rate for all hours they worked over 40 in a given workweek. 

The Massachusetts Department of Labor Standards manages minimum wage issues for Massachusetts.

Michigan

Minimum wage: $9.87

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Michigan is $9.87. The minimum wage will continue to increase on a set schedule until it reaches $12.05 on January 1, 2030, so long as the unemployment rate does not exceed 8.5%. 

You must pay employees time and a half for any hours worked over a 40-hour workweek. 

The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs manages minimum wage issues for Michigan.

Minnesota

Minimum wage: $10.33

As of January 1, 2022, there are two minimum wages in Minnesota:

  • Large employers (annual gross sales of $500,000 or more): $10.33
  • Small employers (annual gross sales less than $500,000): $8.42

In 2023, Minnesota’s minimum wage rate will be adjusted for inflation to $10.59 for large employers and $8.63 for small employers. 

Additionally, Minneapolis and St. Paul have passed unique minimum wage requirements:

  • Minneapolis: $15.00 for more than 100 employees, $13.50 for 100 or fewer employees
  • St. Paul: $15.00 for more than 10,000 employees, $13.50 for 101 to 10,000 employees, $12.00 for six to 100 employees, and $10.75 for five or fewer employees

Both Minneapolis and St. Paul have schedules to increase minimum wages on a yearly basis.

Minnesota’s state overtime cutoff for hours worked in one workweek is 48 hours, so you must pay employees 1.5 hours of their hourly wage for any hours worked over that cutoff.

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry manages minimum wage issues for Minnesota.

Mississippi

Minimum wage: No state minimum wage.


No Mississippi law establishes a state minimum wage. Therefore, the federal minimum wage of $7.25 applies, as does the time and a half law for overtime of the number of hours worked over 40 in one work week. 

No Mississippi government agency manages minimum wage issues for Mississippi.

Missouri

Minimum wage: $11.15


As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Missouri is $11.15 and is set to increase to $12.00 on January 1, 2023. Retail employers and service businesses that gross less than $500,000 annually are exempt from the state minimum wage.

Kansas City and St. Louis passed minimum wage ordinances. However, Missouri state law prohibits local governments from adopting minimum wages higher than the state minimum wage. Therefore, the local government minimum wages are unenforceable in Missouri.

You must pay employees time and a half pay once an employee works more than 40 hours in a single workweek. 

The Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations manages minimum wage issues for Missouri.

Montana

Minimum wage: $9.20


As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Montana is $9.20 for businesses with gross annual sales of more than $110,000. For businesses making $110,000 or less in gross annual sales, the minimum wage is $4.00. These rates are subject to annual indexing, which will adjust the minimum wage accordingly.

You are subject to pay employees 1.5 hours of the state’s minimum wage when employees work more than 40 hours in one week. The overtime threshold for seasonal recreation workers who receive room and board is 48 hours per week and eight hours a day, or 80 hours in a 14-day period for healthcare workers. 

The Montana Department of Labor and Industry manages minimum wage issues for Montana.

Nebraska

Minimum wage: $9.00

As of January 1, 2016, the minimum wage in Nebraska is $9.00 for employers with four or more employees. Currently, there are no scheduled minimum wage increases. 

Nebraska has no state laws regarding overtime pay, so you must follow the federal standard of 1.5 times the state minimum rate for all hours worked over 40 in a given week. 

The Nebraska Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for Nebraska.

Nevada

Minimum wage: $10.50

As of July 1st, 2022, the minimum wage in Nevada is $10.50 if the employer doesn’t provide health insurance to employees. If they do provide health insurance, the minimum wage is $9.50. Each of these rates is set to increase by $1.50 by 2024. 

In Nevada, you must pay time and a half for hours worked over eight hours in a day or hours worked over 40 hours in a workweek to employees who are:

  • Making less than $14.25 per hour and are receiving health benefits or those who 
  • Making less than $15.75 and do not receive health benefits 

The Nevada Department of Business and Industry manages minimum wage issues for Nevada.

New Hampshire

Minimum wage: $7.25


As of September 1, 2008, the minimum wage in New Hampshire is $7.25. New Hampshire law requires employers to follow the federal minimum wage. The state also follows the standard overtime minimum wage rate of 1.5 times the federal rate. 

The New Hampshire Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for New Hampshire.

New Jersey

Minimum wage: $13.00 

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in New Jersey is $13.00. The minimum wage will increase to the greater of annual indexing or $14.00 on January 1, 2023, and $15.00 on January 1, 2024.

For New Jersey employers with less than six employees, the minimum wage is $11.90 and will increase each year thereafter by $0.80 on January 1, through 2025.

You must pay all nonexempt employees 1.5 times the state minimum wage for employees working over 40 hours in any given week. 

The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development manages minimum wage issues for New Jersey.

New Mexico

Minimum wage: $11.50

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in New Mexico is $11.50 and will increase to $12.00 on January 1, 2023. 

Additionally, the City of Sante Fe and Santa Fe County have higher wage requirements:

  • City of Sante Fe: $12.95
  • Sante Fe County: $12.95

Overtime pay is one and a half times the state’s hourly minimum wage, or $17.25 per hour, for every hour an employee works over 40 hours in one workweek. 

The New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions manages minimum wage issues for New Mexico.

New York

Minimum wage: $13.20

As of December 31, 2021, the general minimum wage in the state of New York is $13.20.

However, the minimum wage rate may vary depending on your area:

  • New York City: $15.00
  • Long Island: $15.00
  • Westchester: $15.00

Scheduled increases for the state of New York will continue until the state minimum wage reaches $15.00.

New York has new regulations in place that require you to pay time and a half for hours worked outside of a 40-hour payroll week for all residential workers and non-exempt employees.

The New York State Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for New York.

North Carolina

Minimum wage: $7.25

The minimum wage in North Carolina is currently equal to the federal minimum wage of $7.25. You must also pay your employees 1.5 times the state minimum for every additional hour worked outside of the 40-hour workweek.

The North Carolina Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for North Carolina.

North Dakota

Minimum wage: $7.25

As of July 24, 2009, the minimum wage in North Dakota is the same as the federal rate of $7.25. You must pay all eligible employees overtime pay of time and a half the minimum wage for hours worked over a 40-hour workweek. 

The North Dakota Department of Labor and Human Rights manages minimum wage issues for North Dakota.

Ohio

Minimum wage: $9.30

The current minimum wage in Ohio is $9.30 for employers that gross $342,000 or more annually. For employers who gross less than $342,000 annually, the federal minimum wage of $7.25 applies. The general rate is subject to annual indexing, which will adjust the minimum wage accordingly.

All non-exempt employees must be paid 1.5 times their hourly rate when they exceed a 40-hour workweek. 

The Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Industrial Compliance manages wage and hour issues for Ohio.

Oklahoma

Minimum wage: $7.25

Oklahoma follows the federal minimum wage for employers with more than 9 employees in one location, or businesses that gross more than $100,000 annually. For all others, the minimum wage is $2.00, except for employers that are subject to the federal minimum wage.

You must pay all eligible employees one and half times their regular hourly rate for overtime hours worked outside of their normal 40-hour workweek. 

The Oklahoma Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for Oklahoma.

Oregon

Minimum wage: $13.50

As of July 1, 2022, three different minimum wages apply to Oregon employers:

  • Portland metropolitan employers: $14.75
  • Non-urban counties: $12.50
  • All other employers: $13.50

The overtime minimum wage rate is 1.5 times the state minimum wage when employees work more than 40 hours. Oregon excludes some occupations, like fishermen, commissioned workers, or those in the computer industry making over $27.63 per hour from earning overtime pay.

The Oregon Bureau of Labor and industries’ Wage and Hour Division manages minimum wage issues for Oregon.

Pennsylvania

Minimum wage: $7.25

Pennsylvania law requires that Pennsylvania’s minimum wage track the federal minimum wage. Accordingly, the minimum wage in Pennsylvania is $7.25.

Pennsylvania follows the time and a half rule for overtime pay and excludes the following occupations from overtime pay: 

  • Taxi drivers
  • Farm workers
  • Vehicle mechanics and salespeople
  • Movie theater workers
  • Motor carrier employees

The Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry manages minimum wage issues for Pennsylvania.

Rhode Island

Minimum wage: $12.25

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Rhode Island is $12.25. The minimum wage will increase over the next three years as follows: 

  • January 1, 2023: $13.00 
  • January 1, 2024: $14.00
  • January 2, 2025: $15.00 

Eligible employees must be paid 1.5 times the state’s hourly rate for all hours they work outside of their 40-hour workweek. Rhode Island also requires you to pay the same overtime rate on holidays and Sundays for retail employees and certain other businesses.

The Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training manages minimum wage issues for Rhode Island.

South Carolina

Minimum wage: No state minimum wage. 


Currently, there is no set state minimum wage in South Carolina. Therefore, the federal minimum wage of $7.25 applies to employees in the state. This means that employees are subject to time and a half pay for all overtime hours worked.


The South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation manages minimum wage issues for South Carolina.

South Dakota

Minimum wage: $9.95

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in South Dakota is $9.95. That rate is subject to annual indexing, which will adjust the minimum wage accordingly.

There are no specific state overtime laws in South Dakota, therefore the federal law of time and a half applies when employees work over 40 hours in a single workweek. 

The South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation manages minimum wage issues for South Dakota.

Tennessee

Minimum wage: No state minimum wage.


No Tennessee law establishes a state minimum wage. Therefore, the federal minimum wage of $7.25 applies, as well as the overtime minimum wage rate of 1.5 times the federal minimum when employees work more than 40 hours.

The Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development manages wage and hour issues for Tennessee.

Texas

Minimum wage: $7.25

Texas law requires that Texas’s minimum wage track the federal minimum wage. Accordingly, the minimum wage in Texas is $7.25.

Texas law states that employers pay their employees no less than one and a half times their regular rate of pay when they work over 40 hours per week. 

The Texas Workforce Commission manages minimum wage issues for Texas.

Utah

Minimum wage: $7.25

Utah law prohibits Utah’s minimum wage to exceed the federal minimum wage. This means that the minimum wage in Utah is $7.25.

There are no state-specific overtime laws in Utah, therefore employers must pay the federal overtime rate of 1.5 times the employee's regular pay when they work over 40 hours.

The Utah Labor Commission manages minimum wage issues for Utah.

Vermont

Minimum wage: $12.55

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Vermont is $10.78. This rate is subject to annual indexing which will adjust the minimum wage accordingly. 

You must pay employees 1.5 times their hourly rate for hours worked over 40 hours in one workweek. For medical employees, Vermont’s overtime limits are eight hours in a day, or 80 hours biweekly. Vermont also excludes the following occupations from receiving overtime pay: 

  • Farm workers
  • Some non-profit employees
  • Taxi drivers
  • Newspaper deliverers
  • Salespeople
  • Executive, professional, and administrative employees

The Vermont Department of Labor manages minimum wage issues for Vermont.

Virginia

Minimum wage: $11.00

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Virginia for employers with more than four employees is $11.00. The minimum wage is subject to increase over the next few years as follows: 

  • January 1, 2023: $12.00
  • January 1, 2025: $13.50
  • January 1, 2026: $15.00

Virginia follows the FLSA’s overtime rules of 1.5 times the employee’s hourly rate for every hour they exceed 40 in a workweek. 

The Virginia Department of Labor and Industry manages minimum issues for Virginia.

Washington

Minimum wage: $14.49

As of January 1, 2022, the minimum wage in Washington is $14.49. 

Additionally, certain local Washington jurisdictions passed unique minimum wage requirements that are higher than the state average. This includes:

  • Seattle, WA: $17.27 per hour
  • SeaTac, WA: $17.54 per hour 

Eligible employees who work more than 40 hours in a seven-day workweek must receive time and a half pay. Non-dairy agricultural workers are eligible for overtime pay once they exceed 55 hours in a workweek. 

The Washington Department of Labor and Industries manages minimum wage issues for Washington.

West Virginia

Minimum wage: $8.75

West Virginia’s current state minimum wage is $8.75 for employers with six or more employees. If they don’t meet the six employee requirement, employers must adhere to the federal minimum wage of $7.25. 

You are required to pay your employees overtime pay of 1.5 times the state rate when they work over 40 hours. West Virginia excludes employers with under six employees, salespeople, white-collar workers, ushers, farm laborers, vehicle drivers, mechanics, camp employees, and seniors over 62 who receive social security benefits from overtime pay. 

The West Virginia Division of Labor manages minimum wage issues for West Virginia.

Wisconsin

Minimum wage: $7.25

As of July 24, 2009, the minimum wage in Wisconsin is $7.25, making it the same as the federal wage. 

An overtime wage is granted to all eligible employees who work more than 40 hours in one workweek at 1.5 times the hourly rate. However, there are a number of occupations exempt from overtime pay, including: 

  • Executive, professional, and administrative employees
  • Salespeople
  • Commission-based employees 
  • Drivers, driver’s helpers, loaders, or mechanics of a motor carrier
  • Taxi drivers
  • Vehicle salespersons, service managers, service writers, mechanics, and parts persons 
  • Seasonal employees at amusement parks
  • Agricultural workers
  • Movie theater employees
  • Hospital employees
  • Funeral workers 

The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development manages minimum wage issues for Wisconsin.

Wyoming

text highlighting Georgia and Wyoming having the lowest minimum wage in the U.S at $5.15 per hour with an illustrated map of Georgia and Wyoming

Minimum wage: $5.15

The current minimum wage in Wyoming is $5.15, making it one of the lowest-paying states in the U.S. However, because this rate is below the federal minimum wage, the current effective minimum wage in Wyoming is $7.25. 

Since Wyoming has no current state laws in place, they must adhere to the federal rules and pay employees time and a half for overtime when they’ve exceeded 40 hours in a single work week. 

The Wyoming Department of Workforce Services manages minimum wage issues for Wyoming.

A person standing next to a person in front of a house.

Manage teams and your business with ease

Connect payroll, time tracking, employee benefits, and accounting in one place, so managing more feels refreshingly manageable.

Pay your employees fairly

Many state minimum wage laws are subject to change on an annual basis to combat inflation. Make sure you’re staying up to date with your state and city's minimum wage laws to ensure you’re paying your employees fairly. 

Want an easier way to manage your payroll including minimum wage? A payroll solution like QuickBooks Payroll can help. 

QuickBooks Online Payroll & Contractor Payments: Money movement services are provided by Intuit Payments Inc., licensed as a Money Transmitter by the New York State Department of Financial Services, subject to eligibility criteria, credit and application approval. For more information about Intuit Payments Inc.’s money transmission licenses, please visit https://www.intuit.com/legal/licenses/payment-licenses/.


Mail icon
Explore what you can do with QuickBooks
No Thanks

Explore what you can do with QuickBooks

Image Alt Text

See profit at a glance

Get a clear view of what you make and spend over time.
Teal blue circle with a white icon of a credit card with a circle of arrows in the top right corner

Pay your team

Get payroll done right, and payroll taxes done for you.
Image Alt Text

Track and manage time

Track, adjust, and approve your team's hours on any device.

Looking for something else?

QuickBooks

From big jobs to small tasks, we've got your business covered.

Firm of the Future

Topical articles and news from top pros and Intuit product experts.

QuickBooks Support

Get help with QuickBooks. Find articles, video tutorials, and more.