Skip to main content

SUMMER SAVINGS 90% OFF QuickBooks for 3 months* Ends 8/27

Buy now
Switch to QuickBooks and 70% off for 3 Months
August 28, 2020
Solved

Problem with the report "Transaction List by Vendor"

  • August 28, 2020
  • 17 replies
  • 105 views

I am running the report called Transaction List by Vendor for the prior fiscal year (2019).

 

The basic report works perfectly, however, when I customize the report so only show a single, specific Class. then the report show no data.

 

How do I solve this?

Best answer by

Hi there, @998777.

 

Let me step in and assist you with your concern.

 

The class field will appear once you turn on the Use class tracking for transactions option in your Company References. That way, you can assign the class to the transaction, and not as a line item. You can follow these steps on how:

 

  1. Go to the Edit menu.
  2. Select Preferences.
  3. Choose the Accounting tab.
  4. Click Company Preferences.
  5. Put a checkmark in the Use class tracking for transactions box.
  6. If you want a reminder when you haven't assigned a class, select the Prompt to assign classes checkbox.
  7. Click the OK button.

 

Once done, you can view the Class field on the top of the window when you create an invoice, sales receipt, estimate, and bill.

 

For more detailed information about setting up classes, you can read this article: Set up and use class tracking in QuickBooks Desktop.

 

Additionally, you can view this article for insights on how you can filter reports by class: Filter, sort, or total reports by Class in QuickBooks Desktop.

 

Please know that I'm always around here in the Community to help. Keep safe, and have a wonderful day.


@Rejeil_O @JasroV @Angelyn_T @katherinejoyceO @Candice14 

 

Sadly all of you are absolutely wrong. Please know that I REALLY do appreciate your efforts.

 

Be that as it may, 100% of the Intuit team members responses are so far off from correct, that it scares me that you all are not getting the proper product training to really support paying users on the platform.

 

It turns the product is able to support filtering the Transaction List by Vendor by class. And not one person was even in the ballpark getting the working solution. Instead, I was directed to do other stuff, read other articles, do anything but actually resolve the issue – which it turns out was 100% resolvable AND very easily.

 

Here is the solution – before I list the steps, you can watch the video from the following URL:

https://d.pr/v/S1nugu

 

  1. from the REPORTS window, run the Transaction List by Vendor report for the time period you want – once the report displays then do the following
  2. then click Customize Report
  3. show the Class column from the Display tab
  4. then go to the Filter tab and select class
  5. then choose the class you want to filter by
  6. then hit ok
  7. now the report will be blank (which was my issue that nobody could solve)
  8. now click Show Filters
  9. then click the X next to the Detail Level: Summary only

BOOM – done that's it!

 

That's literally it. That's the answer.

 

I hope the Intuit team members will show this to their managers and use it to explain that they need more product training. Please know the reason I come here to is to find expertise from dedicated Intuit team members. It makes me nervous that I am not getting it. Sorry to be harsh, just trying to share what its like to be a customer.

 

Many thanks for all the efforts.

17 replies

JasroV
Level 8
August 28, 2020

Thanks for sharing the details with me, @998777.


You’ll want to adjust the date of the report to All. That way, it'll show all the classes. Then, look for the year 2019 transactions for reference. Let me show you how in your QuickBooks Desktop (QBDT) software.

 

Here's how:

  1. Go to the Reports menu.
  2. Select Reports Center.
  3. Type Transactions List by Vendor from the search field.
  4. Click Run to open the report.
  5. Select Customize from the top menu.
  6. Click the Filters tab.
  7. Select Class from the filters menu.
  8. From the Class drop-down menu select Multiple classes and choose the class of your choice then click OK. 

You can also check this link for more details in customizing reports in your QBDT software.


Once done, you can memorize the report to save its current settings. This way, you won’t have to customize it in case you need to run it again in the future.

 

Let me know if you have other concerns about reports in your QBTD software @998777, it’s always my pleasure to help you anytime. Have a great day ahead.

August 30, 2020

@JasroV 

 

Thanks for this. I have not had a chance to do this yet, but I only need the data for fiscal year 2019 as mentioned in the original post.

 

How do I get just the class(es) I want AND just for the time frame I want.

 

Many thanks in advance.

katherinejoyceO
Level 9
September 1, 2020

@JonpriL @Candice14 @JasroV 

 

So for fun, I decided to run a Profit and Loss Detail report for for "Last Fiscal Year" (2019) and then try the class filtering.

 

It worked immediately!! It even shows the class column etc without needing to turn it on.

 

IMHO this is a clear indication that there is no data issues, no data integrity issues or any sort of file issues.

 

This means that there is some sort of issue with theTransaction List by Vendor supporting classes.

 

Before I chase my tail any longer, can we please get 100% confirmation from your product team that this type of data slicing and dicing is supported by this report for the version of QuickBooks I am using? 

 

Many thanks in advance.


Thanks for coming back, @Roberto Verde. I'm here to answer all your questions. 

 

Yes, the steps provided by my colleague @Candice C to configure data issues should work for QuickBook Desktop Pro 2020. 

 

I appreciate you sharing your sentiments about your other posts. When the feature you're looking for isn't available in your current subscription, we always find ways and workarounds to help you achieve your goals. 

 

Also, the link she provided on her response was just a proposal in case you'd like to upgrade your subscription to a higher version and not redirecting you to a paid tech support. 

 

Here in the Community, we can assure you that we will do our best to help you and other customers in any way we can. And making sure that contacting a paid tech support would be the last resort. 

 

Lastly, I'm adding a link here to make sure you'll have the best resource that you can use as a reference in the future. I'd recommend you visit our QuickBooks Desktop Articles hub to get related topics such as running and customizing reports in QBDT. 

 

Feel free to message again if you have more concerns. We're always delighted to be of your service at any time. Take care.