Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
LeslieBarber
Level 6

How I Learned to *Not* Sell Myself Short. Meet Photographer Jake Baggaley

jake_baggaley_top.jpeg

With a background in documentary photography and an appetite for outdoor adventure, Jake Baggaley is always chasing the perfect moment. 

After a request from a friend led to his first wedding shoot, Jake soon realized he could use the fly-on-the-wall approach he developed in the field to capture real emotion on camera without falling into the corny trappings of traditional wedding photography. 

We caught up with Jake to learn more about why raising his prices was a smart move and the big lesson he learned about having a website.

Name: Jake Baggaley

Business: Jake Baggaley Wedding Photography

Started: March 2015

How did you create your awesome job?

My Dad has a PhD in photography and my mom has an MA, so my destiny was sealed from a young age. I studied Commercial Photography at  Arts University Bournemouth and took every opportunity to include documentary-style projects in my coursework, which meant I had a strong enough portfolio to be booked by publications like The Times, Geographical Magazine and GQ.

I never planned on becoming a wedding photographer, but I gave it a shot after a friend asked me to take pictures of her big day. 

I really enjoyed the contrast with the documentary work I’d been doing up until then — which included a photo series on Chernobyl and another on vigilante superheroes in New York — but found I could use a similar approach to capture the best moments during a wedding. While it’s always rewarding to see my work in print, it’s a much more personal and gratifying experience to get positive feedback from a newly married couple.

Who was your very first customer?

When my friend asked me to shoot her wedding, she became my first wedding photography client.