Learn how to delete your data in QuickBooks Online and start over with new books.
Sometimes you need to start fresh with a new QuickBooks Online company. If you're a new customer, you can simply start over. If you've used QuickBooks for a while, you need to create a new company.
Your next steps depend on how long you've been using QuickBooks.
Reset your account within 90 days of signup
This is for QuickBooks Online Plus, Essentials, or Simple Start users only.
Note: If you're using QuickBooks Online for Accountants, don't follow this process for your own firm’s books. It could cause irreversible damage.
Warning: This process will delete all data in the company file. Once you delete, you can’t restore it.
- Sign in to your QuickBooks Online Company.
- Change the URL to include /purgecompany
Example: Change https://sg.qbo.intuit.com/app/homepage to https://sg.qbo.intuit.com/app/purgecompany
- The next screen will provide a summary of the items to delete. Type YES to delete the data, then select OK.
Things to know
- If the industry you want to use is different than the one showing, feel free to change it.
- Mark whether you would like the system to create accounts based on your industry or start with an empty chart of accounts.
- Once your selections are complete, select Wipe Data. When the deletion is complete, you will be rerouted to your homepage.
Reset your account that is more than 90 days old
If your account has been active for more than 90 days, you can't delete the data. If you have QuickBooks Online account for more than 90 days, please contact our support team for further assistance.
Important: You can cancel your subscription and start a new QuickBooks Online account. However, you will lose special offers or discounts on your subscription.