cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Intuit

Deleting online data and starting over

Learn how to purge your online data and start over in QuickBooks Online.

Do you want to start over? Wipe your data from your QuickBooks Online file and start with new company data? We'll show you how.

Account has been active for more than 60 days

If your account has been active for more than 60 days, you can no longer purge your company data. Instead, you'll have to cancel your account, and start a new subscription.

Cancel your account

  1. Sign in to your QuickBooks Online company at https://qbo.intuit.com.
  2. Select the Gear icon.
  3. Go to Your Account.
  4. Choose Update Credit Card.
  5. In the Subscription Status section, select the Cancel Subscription link.
  6. Follow the on-screen prompts and it'll walk you through the rest of the process.

Start a new account

  1. Go to http://quickbooks.intuit.com/signup/.
  2. Fill in the User ID and password. (You can use the same user ID and password you previously had. If you activated payroll in the account, this is the best option for you.)

Account active for less than 60 days

You can only use the following steps if you have QuickBooks Online Plus or Essentials. If you're using QuickBooks Online Simple Start and wish to start over, you'll need to cancel your current account and start a new one.

Things to know

Payroll users If you have QuickBooks Online Payroll or Full Services Payroll we recommend following the steps above to cancel and start a new account. While it's possible to wipe the data in QuickBooks Online the payroll data will not be affected and the payroll system won't function.

QuickBooks Online Accountant Firm users If you're using QuickBooks Online Accountant, don't attempt this process for your own firm’s Books. It could cause irreversible damage. Instead, import a blank QuickBooks Desktop file. There aren't any limitations preventing you from performing this action.

To wipe the data from your QuickBooks Online account

Warning: Please keep in mind that this process will delete all data entered into the company. Once the data is deleted, it can't be restored or reversed.

 

  1. Log in to your QuickBooks Online Company.
  2. Change the URL to include /purgecompany.
    Example: URL shows https://qbo.intuit.com/c28/app/homepage -  change to: https://qbo.intuit.com/c28/app/purgecompany 
  3. The next screen will provide a summary of the items to be deleted. Type the word yes if you want the data deleted, then select OK.
  4. Select Wipe Data once your selections are complete.

When the deletion is complete, you'll be rerouted to your home page.